Reviews

google
ilan mor
28th April 2024

We had a great experience at Daryl and Naomi's country house. Such a warm welcome and great views! On the last minute Daryl helped us and made us a tasty dinner. Our kids played together with their daughter Emiliy and they had so much fun together . Since we had to leave to the airport very early , Daryl made us an early delicious breakfast. You should stay at their place and feel like home. We definitely return when we will be at the lake district area. Many thanks for the experience and stay. Mor family

tripadvisor
PGipz
6th March 2024

Stunning setting and excellent service

Fantastic setting and even better service from Naomi and Darryl who welcome you in the warmest way, and provide exceptional service and food. The setting is simply gorgeous and the rooms are kept to a high standard with a view to saving the environment, but not 'preachy'. I guzzled down the delicious evening special of fish and ships, on hot plates [a rare thing] with a proper pint of ale. Yes, there is a bar, well stocked! Next morning, after a comfortable night and morning shower, I ate a delicious, locally sourced, Cumbrian breakfast with lovely coffee, which set me up for my departure. A final treat was sitting on a bench in the garden, drinking in the amazing view across the Ellen Valley. A great place to come and stay any time of year. There is ample parking, house is wheelchair friendly, and families are welcome. They are a short drive from Wigton, Cockermouth, the Northern Lakes, and Keswick. Highly recommended.

tripadvisor
625cjp
28th January 2024

Burns Night 2024

It was Burns Night. An event that is nationally popular, but unlike Chef Darryl at Woodlands, so few south of the Border can actually create a Burns Night Supper to remember. What a supper it was and so much to remember about the experience, the traditional crafted and balanced menu so perfectly created. Not just the fine dining in comfortable surrounds, also the knowledge of Naomi in the fine section of malts on offer to complement the meal and enjoyment of the evening. Book now for 2025 to avoid disappointment!

tripadvisor
felicityp744
27th January 2024

Fabulous meal to dream on…

Just enjoyed a superb Burns Night supper … fabulous, lovely atmosphere, flavours to dream of and terrific service … rapidly becoming the hidden gem of the Back ‘o’ Skiddaw. And then, there’s the extensive range of whisky and imaginative choice of whisky cocktails for the season. We will definitely be coming back.

google
London Studios
6th January 2024

Nestled within the breathtaking landscapes of the Lake District, Woodlands Country House is a true haven for those seeking an escape into tranquility. From the moment we arrived, the enchanting beauty that surrounded this idyllic country retreat left us captivated, setting the stage for an unforgettable stay. Upon stepping into Woodlands Country House, we were greeted with a warm welcome from the gracious owners, whose commitment to excellence was evident in every aspect of our stay. Their genuine passion for hospitality shone through, ensuring that every guest felt not just welcomed, but truly cherished. The owner's meticulous attention to detail was apparent, creating an atmosphere that felt both refined and inviting. The rooms at Woodlands Country House are a masterpiece of classic charm and modern comfort, seamlessly blending timeless aesthetics with contemporary amenities. Each space felt like a sanctuary with a view that could easily transport you into a postcard-perfect scene of the Lake District's rolling hills and pristine lakes. After an incredible restful night's sleep, we woke to a bespoke breakfast truly beyond our wildest expectations. Darryl's mastery in the kitchen was evident in every detail. The whole stay was absolutely amazing. 5 enthusiastic stars on all counts! We will be back!

tripadvisor
Bsmule
18th December 2023

Warm welcome and great food in a cosy setting

You couldn’t ask for a friendlier welcome at this hidden gem in Cumbria. Smoothly run by the chef and his wife, the food is always excellent, innovative and plentiful. We had the 3-course set menu but on different days of the week there are other, simpler offerings eg fish and chips, winter warmers etc. The venison in particular was fabulous, very tender and perfectly cooked. There was a choice of desserts to suit everyone. Thank you for a lovely evening!

tripadvisor
Christopher57
28th November 2023

Lovely Stay on the edge of the North Lakes

Real home from home with exceptional service from the friendly hosts, Darryl and Naomi. We chose the Woodlands as a very convenient base to explore the Northern Fells ( convenient for trips to Keswick Carlisle and many other Lakeland towns too ) and after reading the glowing reviews. We were not disappointed. Our room, appropriately the Wainwright room, was large and well appointed , clean and fresh with oodles of hot water and excellent wifi. Breakfast ( French Toast…wow! ) and dinner were delicious being extremely well cooked and presented courtesy of Darryl, a trained chef of many years standing. Many ingredients were homemade ( clementine marmalade … yummy ) and the 3 course evening meal was curated for us after discussion with Darryl. Our stay at the Woodlands was exceptionally enjoyable on many fronts, we intend to return in the near future and would not hesitate to recommend to friends and family.

tripadvisor
384cjp
24th November 2023

A fine restaurant

We have dined at the restaurant several times and have always been very satisfied with our meals and refreshment. Woodlands has always produced a good dining experience with a changing menu based upon local and seasonal produce. An imaginative meal is well prepared together with the ability to suit dietary requirements. Woodlands is well worth a visit. Not just such very good dining but also a balanced wine list and extensive range of whisky that surely would suit all palates. Thoroughly recommended and a dining experience we will continue to enjoy

tripadvisor
SophieL2125
9th November 2023

Unique fine dining

We visited the restaurant and were blown away by the experience. Can't believe what a gem we found at the Woodlands Country House and Cottage! Naomi and Darryl were very warm and welcoming and more than happy to chat with us without being intrusive. They were more than happy to give recommendations for local walks and attractions and knew a lot about the local area. We'd chosen to have Darryl construct a menu based on our preferred tastes, which is not something most restaurants offer and therefore something we were quite excited to try. The meal we were presented with was one of the best I've eaten. I was unsure at first because my wife is a coeliac and also struggling with a milk intolerance at the moment. Given the restaurant tries to minimise waste we were told that the whole meal would be prepared gluten free and milk free which I thought might mean my own food would be lacking. How wrong I was. Daryll is a trained dietary chef and has a background in fine dining which absolutely showed in the quality of the food. I couldn't tell I was eating gluten free or milk free food at all. Absolutely brilliant meal. We only wish we'd booked to stay at the Woodlands Country House and Cottage (we chose a different cottage as we'd not seen this one). Will certainly be visiting (and staying) again.

tripadvisor
X4760YAsarahf
20th October 2023

A definite place to visit if you’re in the area! Amazing food, service and extremely warm welcome

We were staying in the village of Ireby for half term and came upon this hidden gem of a place. We found out Woodlands does ‘chippy Tuesday’ and decided as a family of 4 to sit in for fish and chips but we could have chosen to take our food away if we’d wanted. What an absolutely fantastic experience, from the extremely warm welcome from the hosts making you feel part of their lovely family, the impeccable and faultless service combined with delicious food worthy of any 5 star restaurant was absolutely amazing! We were all quite full after our beautifully battered fish, homemade chips and scrumptious tartare sauce (all home made!) but managed to fit in some pavlovas which were so light, airy and fruity. Nothing was too much trouble and we all thoroughly enjoyed our evening. The hosts go out of their way to accommodate you and your requests, especially with enough notice. Good luck, you truly deserve to be fully booked and busy, we will definitely be back again!

tripadvisor
Anonymous494
2nd October 2023

Fantastic stay

We stayed here for 2 nights and had a fantastic time. Rooms are really quiet, beautifully appointed with a comfortable king sized bed and black out curtains. Daryl and Naomi made us feel very welcome and were excellent hosts. The highlight for us was the food. Breakfast and dinner were amazing – freshly cooked to a very high standard with locally sourced ingredients. I would thoroughly recommend staying here.

tripadvisor
stephenkG451ZP
2nd October 2023

Very comfortable stay with great food

Very comfortable stay with great food. We booked a very short notice stay at Woodlands Country House, and very much enjoyed the experience. Received a very warm welcome on arrival and found the family running the house to be extremely hospitable and pleasant to be around. Rooms had been recently refurbished and were very comfortable and clean. The real gem about this place is the food. Everything was freshly made and the dishes were structured around taste, fantastic, and would easily trump any of the other restaurants I have eaten in, in the Lake District area. The house also had a very comfortable lounge area with a bar stocked with local and high quality wines, sprits and beer, all at a very reasonable price. The room was advertised as an annex, but you are fully undercover from the room to the house, so no getting wet going for dinner. Location was also a good base for exploring the north side of the Lake District, was a short drive from Keswick, and some other local towns which I had not had the opportunity to visit before and other attractions that I’ll visit on my next trip. I would certainly stay here again and book in for dinner.

tripadvisor
Ruth W
18th September 2023

Wood - visit in September/Superb meals

Went for a meal and it was so good we booked again for later that week. Food was exceptional, prepared to order. Daryl and Naomi were great hosts, nothing was too much trouble. Saw the rooms whilst there and they were superb - clean and modern. We may well stay there when we next visit the area. The location is quiet but very beautiful…

tripadvisor
vald549
10th September 2023

Peaceful quiet location

We really enjoyed our 4 night stay at Woodlands Country House and Cottage, we stayed in a garden room which was very clean, comfortable and spacious with a large walk in shower room.The breakfasts were amazing and our evening meals were beautifully presented and extremely tasty Thankyou Darryl and Naomi for making our stay with you so enjoyable, we look forward to returning

google
O L E S H
17th August 2023

Food so good! Atmosphere! Have been there over two years ago still remember and hoping one day will come there again. All the best to owners!

tripadvisor
hazelr52
10th August 2023

Excellent visit to this gem of a hotel

This really is a gem of a place to stay. The accommodation is to a high standard. The hosts were very friendly and accommodating. The fish and chips cooked to gastro standard by an experienced host and chef. Highly recommended.

google
Nabila Hatimi
29th July 2023

We had a perfect stay at Woodlands Country House and Cottage. Naomi and Darryl made us feel very welcome. Our room was lovely and the cottage was perfectly located for our weekend. The breakfasts were absolutely delicious, everything was freshly prepared and super tasty. We very much look forward to coming back.

google
Stephen Murray
23rd July 2023

Great hotel, great hosts, great food, wonderfully comfortable bed. Beautiful and quiet location, and easy access to elsewhere across the Lakes and to the Solway Firth. Special thanks to Amelie and Bertie.

tripadvisor
suesL9059JP
18th July 2023

Three days at Woodlands

Spent a fabulous three days at Woodlands this weekend. The room was very clean and spacious and the very large bed was really comfortable. The breakfast was excellent with a good choice all freshly cooked. Situated in a lovely peaceful village with the lakes a coast both within easy reach this is a great place to stay. Will definitely be back next time we visit the lakes.

tripadvisor
Patstephenson
9th July 2023

Lovely food and location !

We called in to Woodlands today for the first time , feeling hungry and requesting something savoury ! Darryl did not disappoint ! He produced a wonderful platter which included amazing sausage rolls made by himself . We relaxed in the garden with a lovely view across the valley and left feeling decidedly better . Good luck Darryl and Naomi . We will be back

tripadvisor
iouiscoling
24th June 2023

Wonderful Hotel Beautiful Setting Charming Staff

The staff are incredibly charming and very accomodating. The food was amazing far beyond what i expected from a tiny village. The drinks were very well made and the overall experience was brilliant. The location while out the way was worth the journey from manchester, absolutely stunning.

google
Julia G
20th June 2023

What a peaceful and beautiful location. We came to the area for a family event and enjoyed a very comfortable three nights at this hotel, where we were very well looked after. The food could not be faulted - all beautifully prepared and delicious, from enormous breakfasts to three course dinners especially tailored to us.

google
Kieran Wyatt
2nd June 2023

Lovely two-night stay at this very quiet hotel. First-class, personal service from the owners who treat your stay like you're staying in their house. Lovely food too - you tell them what you like (and don't like) in advance and they surprise you on the night. The food lived up to every expectation. Large room was modern, clean and nicely decorated, with a huge bathroom. Highly recommended.

facebook
Anna Denmark
recommends
29th May 2023

What an amazing find in the Lake District, great value for money, comfortable stay and the most incredible home cooked food. On booking please read your email, as you must book for dinner and we would recommend to do so. All locally sourced ingredients, drinks and toiletries in the rooms. Beautiful building and location. 100% worth a visit.

tripadvisor
CasaApollo
29th May 2023

A must stay in the Lake District and make sure you book for dinner!

What an amazing find in the Lake District, great value for money, comfortable stay and the most incredible home cooked food. On booking please read your email, as you must book for dinner and we would recommend to do so. All locally sourced ingredients, drinks and toiletries in the rooms. Beautiful building and location. 100% worth a visit.

tripadvisor
Michael B
26th May 2023

Superb location, awesome breakfast, great hosts

My wife & I stayed in the self catering cottage for 5 nights with 2 dogs. We were blessed with lovely weather for the whole stay though it was chilly enough in the evenings that we lit the fabulous wood burner twice. The cottage was a great base from which to explore the Lake District. It was well equipped and comfortable. The double bed was luxuriously cosy. We would have preferred to have had a chest of drawers for our clothing as you can't hang everything (underwear, shorts, socks etc) in a wardrobe but this didn't detract from our stay at all. We took breakfast in the main building every morning and it was fabulous: no wonder so many people rave about it in their reviews. The hosts were very welcoming and friendly. Highly recommended.

tripadvisor
flandria71
25th May 2023

Stunning evening and glorious food.

WOW! What an amazing occasion, thanks for such a wonderful meal and atmosphere. The food is some of the best I've tasted in many many years, you certainly know how to cook. We had mozzarella and sweet peppers with a romesco sauce to start, cod with a lemon zest/oil crust served on a bed of stunning ratatouille style vegetables and finished off with a mixed berry pavlova and a (very!) local cheese board. All this for £30 PP! We were walking the Cumbria Way and were talking about the food the following day, wishing we had something as good as this to look forward to. I just wish we lived nearer to enjoy more often, thanks Naomi and Darryl. All the very best, Steve & Anne.

google
Albert Chien
24th May 2023

Wow! What an occasion and such lovely food we cannot thank you enough, the food was amazing and clearly showed the skills impressed on you, over many years of training. The quality of your ingredients and the skill to deliver them was a joy to behold. Thanks for the attentiveness but also the time for us to enjoy the occasion, very very happy, thanks.

tripadvisor
469janel
21st May 2023

Lovely stay

Had a fantastic stay here for a wedding in the area. The owners were very welcoming & friendly. Nothing was too much bother. Really delicious food & an extensive range of gins & whisky as well as other drinks. Our room was spotlessly clean & very comfortable. Breakfast was excellent, the best croissants I have had in a long time.

tripadvisor
Foody2260
16th April 2023

Deluxe Afternoon Tea

My partner and I were treated to the deluxe afternoon tea which was absolutely amazing and we both agreed that it was the best we had even had. All was made freshly on site and the homemade bread was amazing. The owners, Darryl and Naomi waited on us throughout and their friendliness and passion for their food shone through and made the experience even better. Many thanks and we cannot wait to return to try the evening meal and chippie Tuesday

tripadvisor
nickaP2327UB
10th April 2023

Easter break

Fantastic stay over the Easter break. Darryl and Naomi are perfect hosts and extremely accommodating. We were all made to feel truly at home. The room was spacious, spotlessly clean, very stylish and themed around local history which was a lovely touch. Both the breakfast and dinner offering were all locally sourced and tasted amazing. We enjoyed our break so much that we booked to return in the summer before leaving. Our daughter is counting down the weeks already!

google
Hilary Sexton
9th April 2023
google
Yasmin Foster
28th March 2023

Just enjoyed chippy Tuesdays! Perfect portion sizing, fresh fish - a light and crunchy batter and very moreish chips. What an unexpected treat.

google
john graham
15th February 2023

Went for valentines meal, Excellent food and service

tripadvisor
rachaela626
13th February 2023

The place to stay for short, medium or long breaks in the Lake District.

Fabulous place to stay. Spacious room, Wi-Fi that works, fantastic shower (pressure and temperature). Very comfy, spacious bed. Food was excellent, and Darryl caters for all requirements. Location is a great base to explore the Lake District, and a friendly place to recoup each day.

tripadvisor
Angela W
4th November 2022

If there is one place you should dine in Cumbria then this is the place. The food is absolutely amazing, stunning actually. Our hosts Naomi and Darryl made us so very welcome. Absolutely first class and I can not recommend enough. We will be back most definitely - thank you both very much.

tripadvisor
angelawS475LV
4th November 2022

Meal Out

If there is one place you should dine in Cumbria then this is the place. The food is absolutely amazing, stunning actually. Our hosts Naomi and Darryl made us so very welcome. Absolutely first class and I can not recommend enough. We will be back most definitely - thank you both very much.

google
Paul Johnson
31st October 2022

Had a truly fabulous meal- quality of food was excellent and the service first class. Beautiful dining room too. Highly recommended.

tripadvisor
Pioneer37376934273
31st October 2022

We went with family from the local village of Ireby, Australia and New Zealand for the 3 course dinner which was absolutely delicious. The food, wine and service was 5 star. The ambience and decor was also beautiful. All of us enjoyed very much and would highly recommend.n

tripadvisor
Pioneer37376934273
31st October 2022

Amazing food, service and ambience.

We went with family from the local village of Ireby, Australia and New Zealand for the 3 course dinner which was absolutely delicious. The food, wine and service was 5 star. The ambience and decor was also beautiful. All of us enjoyed very much and would highly recommend.

tripadvisor
charlesofcheshire
17th October 2022

A lovely friendly family run country house. Everything is 5 Star from the bedrooms with lovely linen and fluffy towels ,to the excellent cuisine. Darryl is a 5 Star Chef and everything is homemade. While we were there we had a family celebration for 18 people and the food and service was excellent nDarryl and Naomi really go out of their way to look after your every need.nDefinitely 5 Stars

tripadvisor
charlesofcheshire
17th October 2022

Fantastic Stay

A lovely friendly family run country house. Everything is 5 Star from the bedrooms with lovely linen and fluffy towels ,to the excellent cuisine. Darryl is a 5 Star Chef and everything is homemade. While we were there we had a family celebration for 18 people and the food and service was excellent Darryl and Naomi really go out of their way to look after your every need. Definitely 5 Stars

facebook
Jenny Ford
recommends
3rd October 2022

I was very lucky to have had a surprise afternoon tea arranged at the Woodlands for my 40th birthday - it was incredible! There were nine of us, and the service, food and attention to detail were second to none. I’ve been for many afternoon tea’s and can easily say this was the best I’ve ever had 💖I was made to feel very special indeed! Thank you Daryll and Naomi, it was truly wonderful x

tripadvisor
Ian W
27th September 2022

Darryl and Naomi went out of their way to make us feel special with 5 star attention. The room was comfortable and the bathroom spacious. The food was excellent and the wine list well chosen. 3 course dinner was £30 and the best hotel food I can remember

tripadvisor
ianwA3802AH
27th September 2022

5 star experience

Darryl and Naomi went out of their way to make us feel special with 5 star attention. The room was comfortable and the bathroom spacious. The food was excellent and the wine list well chosen. 3 course dinner was £30 and the best hotel food I can remember

tripadvisor
Margaret R
18th September 2022

We have just spent five nights at Woodlands House and loved it.....everything we wanted for a break. The friendliness of our hosts (we almost felt like family.),the comfortable accommodation, recently refurbished and above all the wonderful food makes this an exceptional place to stay.nWe booked an evening meal for our first night and decided then to eat there every evening and dinner, and the breakfasts, were always delicious. Try it!

tripadvisor
margaretrA6142QP
18th September 2022

A great place to stay

We have just spent five nights at Woodlands House and loved it.....everything we wanted for a break. The friendliness of our hosts (we almost felt like family.),the comfortable accommodation, recently refurbished and above all the wonderful food makes this an exceptional place to stay. We booked an evening meal for our first night and decided then to eat there every evening and dinner, and the breakfasts, were always delicious. Try it!

tripadvisor
akhil m
30th August 2022

We visited the property for the Bank Holiday weekend and must say thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Room was very clean with quality furniture and beddings. Food was amazingly delicious. And above all the property owners are very helpful and warm. They helped us in planning the right things to do with the kids. Would love to be back there again.

tripadvisor
532akhilm
30th August 2022

Woodland Country House

We visited the property for the Bank Holiday weekend and must say thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Room was very clean with quality furniture and beddings. Food was amazingly delicious. And above all the property owners are very helpful and warm. They helped us in planning the right things to do with the kids. Would love to be back there again.

google
Graham Sexton
29th August 2022

An update: a second visit for afternoon tea for our daughters 40 birthday. Darell and Naomi prepared the delivered the best afternoon tea we have ever had! A good step up from Betty's Tea rooms imho. Our whole family, especially our daughter, thoroughly enjoyed the occasion. Previous review: We only visited for an outdoor BBQ, so I can't comment regarding the accommodation. It's a little off the beaten track and perhaps that is part of its appeal. Beautiful views across rolling fields from the terraces at the house. The venue is run by a couple who are putting their lives and souls into this! The BBQ food was lovely with an especially nice gateaux for the sweet course. Darrell ( owner) is a experienced patisserie chef and produces lots of his own food. Yum 😋

tripadvisor
MichLakers
26th August 2022

Wow, what a fabulous 3 night stay we have just had at Woodlands County House.nThe rooms are spotlessly clean with super comfy beds.nAn extensive breakfast menu to choose from all cooked fresh to order and using local produce.nOur two evening meals at Woodlands County House were absolutely delicious.nFeel well and truly spoiled by the lovely owners x

tripadvisor
MichLakers
26th August 2022

Woodlands County House

Wow, what a fabulous 3 night stay we have just had at Woodlands County House. The rooms are spotlessly clean with super comfy beds. An extensive breakfast menu to choose from all cooked fresh to order and using local produce. Our two evening meals at Woodlands County House were absolutely delicious. Feel well and truly spoiled by the lovely owners x

google
Jo Hardstaff
23rd August 2022
tripadvisor
rabbithutch2021
19th August 2022

Woodlands Country House

Another visit to Woodlands with a warm welcome and excellent food. The rooms are spotless and well appointed. The bar is well stocked and the cocktails are enjoyed by many of the guests. Nothing to much trouble for the hosts Darryl and Naomi

tripadvisor
fearnhead
7th August 2022

What a fantastic place and Darryl and Naomi perfect hosts. Great welcome, nothing was too much trouble, room was amazing, slept so well and breakfast was spot on !! Lovely place and great base to go and explore. Defo recommend and will be back !!

tripadvisor
fearnhead
7th August 2022

Fab place !

What a fantastic place and Darryl and Naomi perfect hosts. Great welcome, nothing was too much trouble, room was amazing, slept so well and breakfast was spot on !! Lovely place and great base to go and explore. Defo recommend and will be back !!

google
Strakan 007
1st August 2022

The most remarkable aspect of our stay at the Woodlands Country House was the warm welcome of the owners: we really felt like visiting old friends. The dinner and the breakfast were worthy of a gourmet restaurant. In addition the majority of the products are local. We warmly recommend this place.

facebook
Liz Mumberson Woods
recommends
28th July 2022

We had a fabulous meal there , can’t fault the setting , service and the food was delicious . Attention to detail and beautiful presentation with excellent service from the very professional but friendly owners . Looking forward to our next visit ! Liz and Ray

facebook
Mark Muscarella
recommends
25th July 2022

An amazing place, run by a genuinely friendly couple, dog friendly. You will need to book in advance as the quality is that good. Stunning views in a picturesque village.

tripadvisor
TimL
18th July 2022

Darryl and Naomi will ensure youre well looked after. Excellent food and a well stocked bar. The location is very peaceful in the small village of Ireby. Highly recommended. Wildlife Park close by well worth a visit.

tripadvisor
TimL-Hello
18th July 2022

***** Fantastic *****

Darryl and Naomi will ensure your'e well looked after. Excellent food and a well stocked bar. The location is very peaceful in the small village of Ireby. Highly recommended. Wildlife Park close by well worth a visit.

tripadvisor
jean436
17th July 2022

My sister took us to this restaurant in a country house in the lovely village of Ireby. We wee made very welcome and had a really excellent meal. What a pleasure to find a restaurant of this quality in a lovely setting in a quiet Cumbrian village.

tripadvisor
jean436
17th July 2022

Excellent meal

My sister took us to this restaurant in a country house in the lovely village of Ireby. We wee made very welcome and had a really excellent meal. What a pleasure to find a restaurant of this quality in a lovely setting in a quiet Cumbrian village.

google
Michael Meng
14th July 2022

The cottage is a Perfect starting point to explore the lakes and fells as well as the lovely coastline. The rooms are spacious, recently renovated, very clean and very quiet. The food is excellent and the hospitality of the hosts was overwhelming. Can‘t recommend this place highly enough.

tripadvisor
Michael M
14th July 2022

We stayed 5 nights and it was just overwhelming. The cottage ist situated in a scenic landscape , right at the Edge of Ireby. It is a perfect starting point for exploring the lakes and the Cumbria coast, with Keswick, Buttermere, St. Bees and other places of interest in easy reach. Rooms are spacious, recently renovated and very quiet. The breakfast is excellent, and so is the three course menu that you can order for dinner: fresh, using local produce whereever possible, varied and nicely served. What makes this place really stand out is the hosts: their hospitality and their passion to provide guests an experience they will remember - we definitely will.

tripadvisor
Michael M
14th July 2022

Excellent in all respects

We stayed 5 nights and it was just overwhelming. The cottage ist situated in a scenic landscape , right at the Edge of Ireby. It is a perfect starting point for exploring the lakes and the Cumbria coast, with Keswick, Buttermere, St. Bees and other places of interest in easy reach. Rooms are spacious, recently renovated and very quiet. The breakfast is excellent, and so is the three course menu that you can order for dinner: fresh, using local produce whereever possible, varied and nicely served. What makes this place really stand out is the hosts: their hospitality and their passion to provide guests an experience they will remember - we definitely will.

tripadvisor
Max C
2nd July 2022

Naomi and Darryl are the perfect hosts. Incredible food and what a selection of whisky and cocktails!. They made us feel completely at home and even brought our breakfast to our room (which was fantastic too).nnRoom is very comfortable and location is beautiful too. 10/10

tripadvisor
Max C
2nd July 2022

Amazing hospitality!

Naomi and Darryl are the perfect hosts. Incredible food and what a selection of whisky and cocktails!. They made us feel completely at home and even brought our breakfast to our room (which was fantastic too). Room is very comfortable and location is beautiful too. 10/10

tripadvisor
Karen T
27th June 2022

My husband and I have known the owners Naomi and Darryl for many years. We’ve observed in the wings the progress they’ve made since they moved into Woodlands. They’re doing a great job and know there’s more to do. However, if you want a place to stay away from it all or a delicious meal out in this idyllic setting then Woodlands is the place to go. We had a fabulous meal there last night, great food and company.nWe’ll definitely be back. ?

tripadvisor
karentK1297DJ
27th June 2022

Fantastic meal and place to go

My husband and I have known the owners Naomi and Darryl for many years. We’ve observed in the wings the progress they’ve made since they moved into Woodlands. They’re doing a great job and know there’s more to do. However, if you want a place to stay away from it all or a delicious meal out in this idyllic setting then Woodlands is the place to go. We had a fabulous meal there last night, great food and company. We’ll definitely be back. ??

tripadvisor
Janet Y
15th June 2022

Our stay was in the dog friendly cottage cosy with great views over the surrounding countryside. Naomi & Darryl are perfect hosts warm and very welcoming and a wonderful meal cooked by Darryl. Easy access to the lakes and it’s beauty Keswick nearby. We can not recommend a stay at Woodlands enough it’s a perfect holiday retreat.

tripadvisor
303janety
15th June 2022

Jan & Eddie Liverpool 30 th may 5 day stay 2022.

Our stay was in the dog friendly cottage cosy with great views over the surrounding countryside. Naomi & Darryl are perfect hosts warm and very welcoming and a wonderful meal cooked by Darryl. Easy access to the lakes and it’s beauty Keswick nearby. We can not recommend a stay at Woodlands enough it’s a perfect holiday retreat.

tripadvisor
Christopher R
12th June 2022

We had a fantastic long weekend at the Lakes District. Woodlands County House is a fatastic place to stay and would highly recommend it. Out room was large for my family of 4 and recenyl renovated so eveything was like new. We decided to eat one evening there we had 3 courses and once again it was fantastic amd they accomodated my daughter with a homemade pizza.It had easy access to most areas of the lakes with Keswock just a short drive away.

Fanily Stay at the Woodlands Country House at Ireby

We had a fantastic long weekend at the Lakes District. Woodlands County House is a fatastic place to stay and would highly recommend it. Out room was large for my family of 4 and recenyl renovated so eveything was like new. We decided to eat one evening there we had 3 courses and once again it was fantastic amd they accomodated my daughter with a homemade pizza.It had easy access to most areas of the lakes with Keswock just a short drive away.

google
Shahram Khan
6th June 2022

We loved our stay Excellent location, hospitality and food 5 🌟 all around Nothing was ever any trouble for Naomi and Darryl Made our stay so comfortable and memorable Will be definitely coming back for more

Very nice room, very good shower, very good Wi-Fi, delicious with good choice cooked breakfasts, delicious every day different menu diners, great location, 23 min from Keswick, 18 min from Cockermouth, 27 min from Silloth, 34 min from Whitehaven. Highly recommended. Will come again.

facebook
Kirsty Clemetson
recommends
29th May 2022

Had a lovely meal last night at Woodlands for our wedding anniversary, amazing food and lovely people. Nothing was too much trouble. Would highly recommend a visit 😊

tripadvisor
Charles
29th May 2022

A visit to the Lake District is magical. To stay at Woodlands is the icing on the cake. Your hosts, Darrell and Naomi make every effort to go the extra mile. Darrell is an excellent chef and eating there is a gourmet experience - without the gourmet prices. Naomi mixes a mean selection of cocktails and the wine list is excellent having been chosen with care. This is a fresh, new enterprise with a great future - have no qualms about being part of it!

tripadvisor
CharlesHolden1
29th May 2022

Icing on the cake

A visit to the Lake District is magical. To stay at Woodlands is the icing on the cake. Your hosts, Darrell and Naomi make every effort to go the extra mile. Darrell is an excellent chef and eating there is a gourmet experience - without the gourmet prices. Naomi mixes a mean selection of cocktails and the wine list is excellent having been chosen with care. This is a fresh, new enterprise with a great future - have no qualms about being part of it!

google
Nancy Riches
14th May 2022

The food was outstanding and the service exceptional. We cannot recommend Woodlands enough. Thank you. We will be returning.

We had dinner and breakfast at Woodlands last Friday and Saturday. The menu was tailored to our own personal needs. nThe food was outstanding, beautifully cooked sourced from local produce. The service was exceptional. A delightful family. nA real gem in Ireby.n We our looking forward to returning.

tripadvisor
nancyrN7418LV
14th May 2022

Wonderful

We had dinner and breakfast at Woodlands last Friday and Saturday. The menu was tailored to our own personal needs. The food was outstanding, beautifully cooked sourced from local produce. The service was exceptional. A delightful family. A real gem in Ireby. We our looking forward to returning.

tripadvisor
Traveler537891
12th May 2022

Stayed for one night at woodlands country house, a lovely family run business, we were made to feel at home from the minute we walked through the door, the old rectory has wonderful views of hills around Ireby village, the food was first class and well presented, the room was immaculate with a comfortable queens bed which allowed a good nights sleep for Lavinia and myself. We will definitely return to this little gem in the north lakes.

tripadvisor
Traveler537891
12th May 2022

Fantastic stay

Stayed for one night at woodlands country house, a lovely family run business, we were made to feel at home from the minute we walked through the door, the old rectory has wonderful views of hills around Ireby village, the food was first class and well presented, the room was immaculate with a comfortable queens bed which allowed a good nights sleep for Lavinia and myself. We will definitely return to this little gem in the north lakes.

tripadvisor
thadyn
7th May 2022

We had a wonderful stay. Very coy newly decorated bedroom with en-suite, great breakfast and sublime dinner. Our hosts were more than accomodating to all our needs. The location is perfect for exploring the beautiful Lake District.nWe will be back.

tripadvisor
thomashasyn
7th May 2022

Wonderful stay

We had a wonderful stay. Very coy newly decorated bedroom with en-suite, great breakfast and sublime dinner. Our hosts were more than accomodating to all our needs. The location is perfect for exploring the beautiful Lake District. We will be back.

tripadvisor
Amita
20th April 2022

Had a wonderful stay at woodlands cottage, unfortunately not long enough. Wonderful family running the cottage and the hotel next door, nothing was too much trouble. Met lots of local villagers at the Easter egg hunt and had a fabulous Saturday in the sunshine. We will definitely be returning.

tripadvisor
346amitap
20th April 2022

Easter break

Had a wonderful stay at woodlands cottage, unfortunately not long enough. Wonderful family running the cottage and the hotel next door, nothing was too much trouble. Met lots of local villagers at the Easter egg hunt and had a fabulous Saturday in the sunshine. We will definitely be returning.

facebook
Catherine Long
recommends
19th April 2022

Great quality food and beverage & excellent hospitality! A Home from home! 😊❤️

tripadvisor
Andy M
12th April 2022

Comfy beds. Blackout curtains. Nice big tv. Great homemade milkshakes. Amazing attention to detail and great food makes this a hidden gem. Lovely house with open fires, lots of character and cosy nooks. Not forgetting great hosts, sightseeing recommendations and local food and drink (all great). Will be back and would recommend 10/10

tripadvisor
K2301UXandym
12th April 2022

They have thought of all the little things

Comfy beds. Blackout curtains. Nice big tv. Great homemade milkshakes. Amazing attention to detail and great food makes this a hidden gem. Lovely house with open fires, lots of character and cosy nooks. Not forgetting great hosts, sightseeing recommendations and local food and drink (all great). Will be back and would recommend 10/10

tripadvisor
rabbithutch2021
6th April 2022

A very comfortable clean warm room. Friendly atmosphere drinks by the log fire nothing to much trouble. All locally sourced food well prepared and served. A quiet village location but many places to visit and local walks

tripadvisor
rabbithutch2021
6th April 2022

Wonderful weekend break

A very comfortable clean warm room. Friendly atmosphere drinks by the log fire nothing to much trouble. All locally sourced food well prepared and served. A quiet village location but many places to visit and local walks

tripadvisor
D R
22nd February 2022

It may appear strange that we didn’t stay here. We did, however, visit for another dinner in the very welcoming and comfortable surroundings.nnThere are very few places locally where you can have such an excellent meal, with a very good wine list, with a well stocked bar.nBoth Naomi and Darryl, take great pride in selecting the drink and food they serve their guests, knowing the provenance of all and keeping food sourcing as local, fresh and as flavoursome as can be achieved. Even the cheese ( organic) comes from a farm a couple of miles up the lane.nnSuch an enjoyable dinner was had, we will be back.

tripadvisor
D R
22nd February 2022

A Gem in the Northern Fells

It may appear strange that we didn’t stay here. We did, however, visit for another dinner in the very welcoming and comfortable surroundings. There are very few places locally where you can have such an excellent meal, with a very good wine list, with a well stocked bar. Both Naomi and Darryl, take great pride in selecting the drink and food they serve their guests, knowing the provenance of all and keeping food sourcing as local, fresh and as flavoursome as can be achieved. Even the cheese ( organic) comes from a farm a couple of miles up the lane. Such an enjoyable dinner was had, we will be back.

google
Maria Smith
2nd January 2022

On a recent trip to the UK we had the pleasure of having dinner at this little hidden gem. Warmly welcomed by the charming hosts, service was excellent. The attention to detail in the layout of the private dining room was second to none. We thoroughly enjoyed all courses , quality of the food was wxcellent and well prepared, with a fine wine list to match. Look forward to returning again. Highly recommend.

tripadvisor
William G
24th December 2021

Found by chance on the internet as looking for somewhere near north lakes.nAccommodation was newly refurbished and in excellent condition. nOwners were lovely.nOnly negative in room was shower gel etc was not provided.nRegarding food breakfast was excellent with a superb choice, dinner starter and main was as provided with a choice of sweets. Hopefully as the premises build up a choice at dinner will be provided.nWould we visit again, definitely.

tripadvisor
AyrshireLad007
24th December 2021

Well on the way to being excellent

Found by chance on the internet as looking for somewhere near north lakes. Accommodation was newly refurbished and in excellent condition. Owners were lovely. Only negative in room was shower gel etc was not provided. Regarding food breakfast was excellent with a superb choice, dinner starter and main was as provided with a choice of sweets. Hopefully as the premises build up a choice at dinner will be provided. Would we visit again, definitely.

google
Sandy Blow
29th October 2021
Scroll to Top